Electronics & Software – Tips & Guide


What is a standard resistor

What is a standard resistor?


it could mean the series e (e6, 12, 24, 48, 96, etc.) of the resistance values adopted by iso in iso 60063 1952, (with e12 meaning that there are 12 values in a given decade. probably the most common, flavor and has been for 40 years or more). or

it could mean the type of reference standards commonly found in calibration laboratories, etc. or at least the habit of being in … the words constantan and manganin come to mind in this application.

there is +/- 20% resistance, +/- 10% and +/- 5% also.

These are available in specific common values such as 10 ohms, 100 ohms, 100 ohms, etc. then there are values such as 330 ohms which are very common because they are designed to limit the current of leds.

Apart from the above (which I can only guess as “standard” as in the survey), there are also precision ceramic resistors that are checked to determine the exact value to be used in the application for which they have been specially designed. .

In addition to the resistance values, the other design parameters are the temperature ranges of the nominal power (in watts).

Standard resistors are very high precision resistors used as a reference to calibrate or verify the accuracy of other resistors in industry or establishments, on lines or production equipment. these are also used to check the accuracy of resistance meters by most manufacturers.

The universal basic standard for resistance has been maintained in Europe according to which standards around the world are calibrated to create national standards. Nowadays, the quantum hall effect is used as the ultimate criterion of resistance, even if it can not be used as easily everywhere except in laboratories.

Basic standards of different values with very high accuracy are kept in the national physical laboratories of a country. From these units, work standards are established for the equipment industry or other laboratories, which in turn control and calibrate the equipment and components in the user’s facility and certify them.

Standards are set at different levels –

  • international standards
  • national standards
  • laboratory standards
  • certified internal standards
  • labor standards for production